Dec 03, 2020
The Altruists
Posted by Andrew Ridker

A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father s plot to win back his children s inheritance.Arthur Alter is in trouble A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can t afford his mortgage, he s exasperated his much younger girlfriend, and his kids won t speak to him And then there s the money the small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathe A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father s plot to win back his children s inheritance.Arthur Alter is in trouble A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can t afford his mortgage, he s exasperated his much younger girlfriend, and his kids won t speak to him And then there s the money the small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathed directly to his children.Those children are Ethan, an anxious recluse living off his mother s money on a choice plot of Brooklyn real estate and Maggie, a would be do gooder trying to fashion herself a noble life of self imposed poverty On the verge of losing the family home, Arthur invites his children back to St Louis under the guise of a reconciliation But in doing so, he unwittingly unleashes a Pandora s box of age old resentments and long buried memories memories that orbit Francine, the matriarch whose life may hold the key to keeping them together.Spanning New York, Paris, Boston, St Louis, and a small desert outpost in Zimbabwe, The Altruists is a darkly funny and ultimately tender family saga in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jeffrey Eugenides, with shades of Philip Roth and Zadie Smith It s a novel about money, privilege, politics, campus culture, dating, talk therapy, rural sanitation, infidelity, kink, the American beer industry, and what it means to be a good person Get A Copy Kindle Store Online StoresAudibleB

  • Title: The Altruists
  • Author: Andrew Ridker
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 318
  • Format:
  • The Altruists A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father s plot to win back his children s inheritance Arthur Alter is in trouble A middling professor at a Midwestern college he can t afford his mortgage he s

    Natalie

    Ridker has written one of the finest novels I have read about a family, highly dysfunctional, dealing with the death of the matriarch Despite Francine Klein s death, she is the center of the novel and as a reader I identified very strongly with her.Her husband Arthur is a cheat, a liar and a failure He had never been a good father but after her death, he becomes entrenched in his own narcissistic world He has a girlfriend, clearly there to replace Francine since he cannot live without a Ridker h [...]


    Ashley Bergman Carlin

    Ridker is a good writer and this is a good, but not great, debut He writes from the perspectives of 4 characters and excels at the son and flounders with the daughter who has a scene that displays such a lack of self awareness that she comes across as a 7 year old and it s not very believable.It s your typical dysfunctional family novel and there s nothing too exciting here, though a subplot that takes place in Zimbabwe is pretty stellar Some great prose, though, and I ll be curious to see w Rid [...]


    De&

    This is a wonderful novel It tackles topics such as parenthood, loss, socio economic class, academia, sexual identity, sibling rivalry and love I enjoyed all four of the main characters What a captivating book I highly recommend reading this when it s out this spring


    James Beggarly

    Really nice debut novel about a father, brother and daughter who slowly come undone in their lives with the death of the mother Smart and sharp and told with a wealth of humor throughout.


    Erin

    What a pure pleasure to read The best books create complex characters that stir empathy but whose flaws may hit uncomfortably close to home this is one of those works Well paced, devastatingly funny, with depictions of familial relationships that are both startlingly new and achingly familiar The only thing I was left wanting at the end of this book was One of those rare reads about life today that feels fresh and true A spectacular debut, highly recommended


    Emma

    It was very well written I didn t like anyone in it While I understand that relatability and likeability are subjective, not quality relevant terms, the larceny operating in the central figures was off putting I liked the writing style, the characterization of hypocritical modernity was right on the nose, and it made me a little sad.


    Annarella

    A very good debut.It s well written, engaging and quite entertaining.I liked the style of writing and the humour in this book.The cast of characters was not really likeable but they were complex and interesting, very well written.The plot was interesting and there s never a moment of bore.I look forward to reading other books by this writer.Recommended Many thanks to Random House UK and Netgalley for this ARC



    • ‣ The Altruists Popular Audio BOOK By Andrew Ridker
      318 Andrew Ridker